Japan Day 6 日本六日目 – Ikebukuro & Odaiba!

25 August 2012 (Saturday)

Photobucket

Good morning everyone~!

Decided to snap more photos of our guest house – Kimi Ryokan to share in case some travellers are interested in staying here as well! (:

Photobucket

Yes, there is a lift! Super convenient for luggage handling~

Photobucket

No TV in the room but there is one cozy common area.

Photobucket

Pantry/kitchen with cute angmoh.

Photobucket

Non-eerie-looking corridor~

More pictures of the facilities on my Day 4 post!
But of course, these were taken before Joanjoan and I came back realising that there were actually bed bugs in our room! =/

Maybe it’s just for our room, but we did see some tiny ladybird-lookalike bug which I told Joanjoan it’s kutu from her hair and I was still playing with it in the morning, trying to trap it in a container but apparently, there was more than just one.

Photobucket

After much playing with the “Japanese bug” x.x

Set off early because it’s gonna be a challenging day! We gonna cover 2 places and then rush back for a dinner date!

First up – Ikebukuro!
Photobucket

We did not really have time to explore the whole of Ikebukuro even though it’s where we stayed; only went to the places recommended by my brother and one of which is the Sunshine City which we kinda missed the other night.

But before that, I had another mission to complete, which is to take a family photo with all my KumaKuma! Hehe! How many can you spot? xD
Photobucket

Decided to explore Sunshine City first because the ramen shop that my brother highly-raved only opens at 10.30am~
Photobucket

Glad to see most of the shops were already opened and it was actually quite a nice place to shop! Though I did not really find anything for myself except 2 belts D:

Photobucket

Bee Pooh! 😀

Photobucket

Chio Hello Kitty bag!!!

Checked out Namja Town, which was one of the places my brother recommended us to go but was already closed the other night and that’s why I was whining about my gyoza~ Haha!
Photobucket

The Namja characters~
PhotobucketPhotobucket

Photobucket

Our entry ticket with the date stamped!

Photobucket

My gyoza!!!!

Photobucket

Yums~!

In case you’re wondering why did I keep linking gyoza to this place, it’s because there is this gyoza street inside that is filled with different gyoza stalls!
Photobucket

So many that you don’t even know which to choose!
Photobucket

And the ones with queue are really pretty long =/
Photobucket

Photobucket

Gyoza restaurant

We kinda settled for one that is of average queue in the end since all the stalls look about the same =/

Photobucket

Our gyoza!!! 😀

Photobucket

Joanjoan met our secondary schoolmate – Ah Pao there!

Photobucket

Old school tidbits shop

My brother told me we can take many nice photos with the characters and etc in there and we finally spotted one!
Photobucket

Photobucket

The 3 Kitties!

Photobucket

So sad that we only saw the female one x.x

Apart from the gyoza street, there is also an ice-cream place that is full of ice-cream stalls!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Magic ice??

They even have a Cup Ice Museum~
Photobucket

And as the name tells you, it’s full of cups of ice-creams of different brands/regions/flavours!
Photobucket

But each of them is quite expensive of course =/
Photobucket

We saw kids walking around with a weird device, scanning walls and every corner and I finally realised that they were playing some games! But we only bought the entry ticket, which excludes the games and etc~

So other than all these, there is actually nothing much to do in Namja Town =/
Felt so bad to make Joanjoan waste her money~ In the end there was no other characters to take pictures with and we took with Mr Tiger…haha!
Photobucket

Photobucket

The tiger & tigress~

Left Namja Town and did a quick shop around the remaining parts of Sunshine City, but there was nothing much left to see~ Most of the clothes were too expensive for us  x.x

Saw some cute little girls doing cheer-leading!
PhotobucketPhotobucket

Japanese parents really know how to doll up their little dolls!
Photobucket

Left to find our long-awaited ramen lunch which my brother really highly-raved about, claiming it’s the best ramen he had ever eaten in his life! But because it is at the other side of Ikebukuro, we had a real hard time finding under the extremely hot sun!

Finally found after asking round and thank goodness the place is quite well-known in that area~ You can see from the queue!
Photobucket

Although the queue was not very long, there is always a queue as long as it’s opened~
Photobucket

So what exactly makes them live up to their 無敵家 name, which means no one can match up?
Photobucket

Finally our turn to find out after about 20 minutes of queuing!

Photobucket

Satisfied faces~

As it is a small restaurant and there is a perpetual queue, it is not a place where you can stay and chit-chat with your friends. It’s more of an eat and go place but I guess everyone is here for the ramen anyway~
Photobucket

Photobucket

My signature ramen! 😀

Joanjoan was famished and she decided to order the one with more ingredients, but as expected, she could not finish it…haha!
Photobucket

So the verdict is … it’s really GOOD!!!!!!!!! I finished every bit of it (except the soup because it’s real fatty, but that’s also what makes it so thick and nice) and I was feeling sooooo full after that! Noodle is also damn Q and nice! (:

We kinda overran the timing because by the time we finished our lunch, it was 2 plus and we still have the whole of Odaiba to explore! Not to mention that the travelling time took about 1 hour and we finally reached the pretty place~
Photobucket

Photobucket

Blue blue sky and blue blue sea!

Photobucket

Ferris wheel!

While in the train, we saw crowds and activities going on in the area and it seems like a very happening place! We had 3 malls to cover, starting with Palette Town, which consists of Mega Web and Venus Fort~

Reminds me so much of Macau!
PhotobucketPhotobucket

Photobucket

Mickey & Minnie

Photobucket

Pretty fountain

There was nothing much to shop because they are all the common stores in shopping malls. But we did take down some interesting places to visit, like the history garage where many vintage cars are exhibited~
Photobucket

Photobucket

Red hot!

Photobucket

But I prefer my yellow one~

Photobucket

Mojo and her grapes~

Photobucket

Spot Kuma Kuma! 😀

Photobucket

Let’s see how excitinggggg it is~

They do sell lots and lots of stuff ranging from books to stationery to clothes to items of all the different Japanese cartoon characters and all the la-la-zup-zup stuff. Oh giant lollipop too! xD
Photobucket

Another place that I wanted to visit in Venus Fort is this Hello Kitty place! I’m not a bigggg fan of Hello Kitty but it’s just that I know the whole place is gonna be pink and pretty~!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Angelic Kitty

Photobucket

It’s a pretty place to take photos!

Photobucket

I don’t mind my house looking like this…hehe.

Photobucket

With my room!

Photobucket

Pretty in pink~

Photobucket

Mojo and her outstanding blue shoes

Photobucket

Spot me! LOL.

Photobucket

Kitty fountain

We saw kids waiting for the next Melody show and I decided to wait as well…haha! So cute can?!
Photobucket

Photobucket

“Hello everyone!”

Then she started dancing with the kids and it’s just so funny but cute! I wanna kidnap her home for Chienny but she said it’s too big! Hahaha!
Photobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

You can watch her cute dance here xD

Photobucket

On the unicorn!

Walked over to the next mall – Decks Tokyo Beach! It’s about 10 minutes walk under the hot sun, but there is also shuttle bus from Palette Town.
Photobucket

Gave the Ferris wheel a miss because we were getting broke~
Photobucket

Oh did I mention that ever since we missed our salmon sashimi on Day 3, we had been looking out for supermarkets to get them and somehow we only came across like 1 or 2 supermarkets so far!

Happened to find one at an ulu corner while heading to Decks and we finally found our salmon sashimi there!!!!!!!!! Unfortunately, after much miscommunication trying to ask for soy sauce, we were informed that they ran out of it D:

Had to eat it plain and hence it definitely did not satisfy my craving! So yucky eating it plain!
Photobucket

Photobucket

So many Monchhichis!!!!!

Photobucket

Saw these in one of the shops! Amazed by how real they feel :S

Photobucket

All about pork!

Photobucket

Korilakkuma & Rilakkuma!

Remember the gyoza and ice-cream museum earlier on, they have one for the Takoyaki too!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Different kinds of octopus balls

Photobucket

Pretty lighting!

Did not really find anything for ourselves in the malls but I chanced upon a shop selling toddlers’ apparels and managed to find something for Isaac! Cho~ happy because I would be sad if everyone gets something except my dearest boy~

Photobucket

Was tempted to get these bee shoes!

Went to the outdoor deck and managed to see the rainbow bridge clearly! But it wasn’t lit up yet~
Photobucket

Photobucket

Deck view

Photobucket

Exterior of Decks

Photobucket

Sunset again!

Photobucket

It’s kinda a nice place to chill (:

Photobucket

Love this place!

Photobucket

Another view of the rainbow bridge

Headed over to the last mall – Aqua City!
PhotobucketPhotobucket

Ahhhhhh~ Cute mascot again!
Photobucket

I wanted to take photo with him but he was already leaving D:
Photobucket

Saw many of this character around~ I think it’s like a new character in Japan but why so ugly one?!
Photobucket

Photobucket

How bout my face version…LOLOL.

We managed to finish all 3 malls because all the shops are the common ones in shopping malls like I said. So I decided to go out and wait for the rainbow bridge to light up!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Panoramic view of the place

Photobucket

Enjoying the sunset (:

Photobucket

Playing with Kumakuma

Photobucket

I knew we need to go off for the dinner date soonnnnn but I really wanna see the rainbow bridge light up! I mean what’s the point of rainbow bridge when the rainbow lights are not up?

Photobucket

I know it’s gonna be worth the wait.

Photobucket

It’s beautiful!

And the street lights complement the whole setting~
PhotobucketPhotobucket

Finally rushed off to Ebisu to meet my Japanese friend for dinner! It’s actually Reiko’s friend – Kei, whom I have met once when he came over Singapore!

He is super nice, patiently answered all my queries for the trip and even when I was there, I was still bombarding him with questions via Facebook! Haha!

He brought a colleague – Arisa along and she is super nice too! I mean so far other than the weird ojisan on Day 1, I have not really met any Japanese that is not nice~

Kei brought us to this nice restaurant in Ebisu which he had brought Reiko to before and apparently she loves it! Even skyped with her over the phone while we were dining! 😀
Photobucket

At first I thought the restaurant is purely a BBQ place and I was like deadddddd, because Joanjoan and I were still feeling full from the ramen! But luckily they do serve other Japanese food like sashimi, sushi and so on~

We let Kei make the choices for us and initially I was afraid that if there is anything that is too exotic for my liking, I wouldn’t know how to react, especially when Japanese are always so polite and other than oishii, you don’t usually hear negative comments right?

But it turned out that everything was pretty good! How can I even doubt Japanese food?! Haha! Even this appetiser made up of burdock and carrots was quite nice!
Photobucket

The salad was even better! I ate like so much of it…hehe!
Photobucket

And because I told Kei that we are big fans of sashimi and our unfated visit to Tsukiji Fish Market, he ordered this sashimi platter for us to try! I think it’s the better kind of sashimi because we have not seen them before and one of them is the puffer fish sashimi! =O
Photobucket

Photobucket

Bitter gourd and eggs!

Photobucket

Fried meat balls to be dipped in raw egg yolk!

Photobucket

Variety of tempura!

Photobucket

Showing off my love for Rilakkuma xD

Kei and Arisa ordered some alcohol and I declined the offer because I can’t imagine getting drunk in front of them…haha!
Photobucket

Was super full after topping up our ramen-filled tummies that we had no space for desserts! But Kei and Arisa insisted that we try theirs and it was too nice to resist in the end…hehe!

Photobucket

This is like our 汤圆!

Photobucket

I forgot what flavour but it’s so nice!

Apart from all the good food, we also had a nice chat about Japanese culture. I was telling them how everyone is so nice and polite there that sometimes I am afraid I will offend them easily with my ignorance and forthrightness.

Sometimes they are so polite that I don’t know how to react. Like when I told them about the weird ojisan encounter on Day 1, Kei was like, “Oh no~ I’m so sorry that that happened!” I was like, “Ahhhh? No no no! It’s not your fault!” LOL. They are really soooo polite and it’s so cute!

Felt so bad when Kei insisted that it’s his treat because it’s so weird letting Reiko’s friend pay for me! But it was really a great meetup with them because this is my first time meeting up with friends overseas!0 It means so much to me and it’s so good having someone there to help you whenever you need ((:

Photobucket

With my 2 Japanese friends! 😀

Oh Arisa is actually the same age as Joanjoan and I! OMG~ I think we dress like kids! @.@

Kei brought us around Ebisu for a short walk to digest our food and it’s a pretty place!
Photobucket

Reminds me of Robertson Quay somehow (:
PhotobucketPhotobucket

Gave them each a Polaroid that we all took together because I had nothing else to give (it’s weird to buy Japanese goods for them -.-“) Hope I will see them again soon in Singapore! 😀
Photobucket

Managed to reach Ikebukuro at 11 plus after Kei taught us a shortcut, which reduced a few stops from our journey~ A pity we only learned about it on our second last night…haha!

But despite it being our second last night, we still almost couldn’t find our way back to the new guest house again!!! Gosh~ It was already the third night there and we still couldn’t remember the way =/

Only 2 more days left! Boohoo~

3 thoughts on “Japan Day 6 日本六日目 – Ikebukuro & Odaiba!

Leave a Reply

