Japan Day 8 日本八日目 – Ueno, Asakusa & Sky Tree!

27 August 2012 (Monday)

So I have come to the last day of our trip~
Was greeted by a big blue-black on my pelvic bone! Actually I knew this was coming when the camera around my neck kept hitting on it, but that’s the most convenient way for quick snaps x.x

Photobucket

Fats oh fats, why you no protect me?

Did our last last last packing before checking out and of course we left our luggage at the guest house because our flight is only in the midnight~ Which also means, we still have one day to tour around!

Decided to have McDonald’s for breakfast because I saw a poster of a 100yen McMuffin the previous day! I need to save some money to get my Sis’s favourite biscuit which is only available at the airport! 😀
Photobucket

Photobucket

S$1.60 for a McMuffin is damn cheappppp!

Photobucket

It tastes the same as Singapore’s one though =/

Since it’s the last day and I had not forgotten my mission from my brother – to get all the dangos I can find, we actually went into ALL the convenience stores that we passed by -.- Due to the short expiry date. I could only get them on the last 2 days you see~

Photobucket

Setting off for another sunny day~!

The last day is usually the day which we use to cover the places that we missed out (but there weren’t any) and places that we KIV-ed, so it was bound to be a rather packed day.

Our initial plan was to visit the zoo in Ueno, which my brother recommended but because we saw in a guide book that Ueno also has this flea market place, of course we decided to visit that first since shopping is always our priority! Hehe!
Photobucket

Didn’t take us too long to find Ameyayokocho, which a street filled with wholesale shops and you can definitely find cheaperrrrrr (I never say damn cheap ah) clothes there!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Shopping under the hot sun~

Saw this super chio luggage but didn’t bother to clarify the price because I really doubt it is only 1,000 yen =/
Photobucket

Photobucket

Pink sun hat!

Photobucket

Looking sunshine? xD

Photobucket

Does Doraemon’s pocket still work if it’s tattered? x.x

It was really hot to shop in such un-sheltered place but wholesale also means digging into the wagons and poor Joanjoan gotta put up with the heat while I burrow through the wagons like a chipmunk =/

But at least I finally found an Adidas top that I bought eventually! That made up a little for my very pathetic shopping loots of only 1 bottom for this trip~

Oh I really love their restaurants’ gimmicks! This “magic ramen” definitely caught my attention xD
Photobucket

And I want the bear!!!!!!!!

It’s not that we are very interested in the sex shops, it’s just that there are too many there =/
Photobucket

Photobucket

一真还比一真真~

Photobucket

A tap?! Too creative 了吧!

Figured that we won’t have enough time for the zoo since it closes at 5pm and even if we had gone, we would not have enough time to finish it. Cute Joanjoan actually replied, “Actually miss the zoo also nevermind lah… All the animals look the same in every country.” LOL.

With that, we moved on earlier to our next stop – Asakusa! This is another popular tourist attraction because there is this famous Sensoji Temple here~
Photobucket

But before reaching the temple, you will pass by this crowded lanes of shops selling souvenirs and local delicacies!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Super crowded!

Photobucket

Perfect gift for baby Monchhichi that I know! xD

There was nothing much to buy for us and we just squeezed through the crowd before we finally reached the temple~
Photobucket

Photobucket

Sensoji Temple!

Look as though I am taking a group shot for them but no, they just happened to be in my shot -.-“
Photobucket

Photobucket

Ta-duh~!

The red lanterns~
PhotobucketPhotobucket

Saw some pictures in Google and I think this temple looks so much more beautiful at night!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Kumakuma is here to 拜拜 too 😀

Photobucket

The pagoda~

Photobucket

Giant sandals again!

Photobucket

Literally 爬到我头上来~

Photobucket

We could see the Skytree from here!

Going in for the same old silly prayers now~
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

We even made sure we used the 50 yen coin because the tour guide from the Mount Fuji trip said that’s what the locals usually use due to the hole in the middle of the coin which brings better luck or something lah. But after we were done praying, we realised we missed the area to wash our hands! D:
Photobucket

Saw people fanning the smoke from the burning incense onto their face and body and I went to fan some as well…hehe. I think it must be for something good!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Equipped with our shades, ready to leave!

Photobucket

Walking down the street again~

It was so so soooooo hot that I was so happy to see a shop selling the Popsicle that we had on Day 3! I realised we ate ice-cream for like 5 out of 7 days!!! Haha! But it was so shiok~!!!!!!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Shopping time again~!

Saw this cute Japanese boy sitting on the ground, throwing a tantrum and refusing to move. So his 2 young siblings actually came to carry him off! Cho~ cute scene!
Photobucket

Photobucket

两个小大人~

Photobucket

Hello Pandas~!

Chanced upon some shoe shop having a sales and Joanjoan and I actually each found a pair that we like! 😀
Photobucket

I know I was supposed to be saving the money for airport souvenirs and survival but I was also disappointed with my overall shopping loots for this trip! So this pair of shoes is like the best buy…hehehehe!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Funniest croissant!

Done with the shopping lanes and since we still had some time before we move on to our next location, we settled in Mister Donut to rest our feet! So sad that we did not see any Krispy Kreme in the end~ Can’t wait for them to open their outlets in Singapore!
Photobucket

Actually I do miss the donuts from Mister Donuts too, ever since I first ate them in Taiwan~ But I was saving moneyyyyy so I koped Joanjoan’s….hehe.
Photobucket

Had a real hard time finding the right station to get to our next stop! After much walking, we finally found it! x.x
Photobucket

Reached our destination – Tokyo Skytree in just a few stop!
Photobucket

Went into this Tokyo Banana shop outside the station and saw people playing with this machine~
Photobucket

The curious us decided to join in as well (since it’s free)! Haha! The cute rabbit will actually fetch you your fortune-reading base on your birth month! So cute~

Photobucket

But it’s all in Japanese again =/

We happened to chance upon a supermarket again and of course we went in to search for salmon sashimi and dango again! So happy to find salmon sashimi WITH soy sauce this time! Finally, my craving was satisfied on the last day! xD
Photobucket

We were actually here just to take a look at the Skytree since it’s the latest attraction in Japan~ We were not intending to pay to go up since the view will probably be about the same as Tokyo Tower =/
Photobucket

And I actually don’t quite like the structure of the Skytree. I mean there is nothing exactly so wow about it and like what Reiko said, it’s just not “sexy” enough.
Photobucket

I still think Tokyo Tower is so much more beautiful, except that this is taller~
Photobucket

Photobucket

Trying to take a shot with the Skytree!

We were actually trying very hard to take a nice shot with the Skytree that we even laid on the bench in awkward positions, straining our back just to make sure the Skytree fits in nicely =/
PhotobucketPhotobucket

Photobucket

Kumakuma visited the Skytree too~! Hehe!

Photobucket

It was so much easier taking for him =/

Photobucket

Looks a little like Changi Airport???

Went into the mall to window-shop a little and I seem to be seeing this “Mr. Expose Chest Hair” character everywhere! Is it a new drama??? The picture looks a bit sick somehow =/
Photobucket

Photobucket

How to resist?!

Photobucket

The exterior of the mall reminds me of Bugis~

Photobucket

Saw the Skytree again from another view!

Photobucket

Another attempt to take a shot with it~

Finally decided to head back to our guest house even though it was still early. It was only about 5 plus when we reached Ikebukuro to collect our luggage and our flight is not departing until 12.30am~

But after the bad experience in Seoul, the paranoid me was so afraid that we would somehow miss our flight again, so I kept emphasising on reaching early! Haha!

I was damn worried that my luggage would exceed the 20kg weight limit and we actually found a weighing scale in the guest house! Surprisingly, it was just nice 20kg! Joanjoan’s was only 13kg, which means I could have changed more money and use up her 7kg! D:

Weighed ourselves as well and surprisingly again, I did not gain a single gram! In fact I was at my lowest (you know you always have +/- 1kg that kind)! For the amount of ice-cream I ate, I could hardly believe that the weighing scale is not spoiled…LOL.

Lugged our luggage to the station and just when we were thankful that there is escalator to go down (to the station), we realised there is no escalator or lift to go up to the platform!!! And the flight of stairs was pretty long! Omgwtfbbq~

I think I really hate the luggage-lugging part the most in a trip -.- Never fail to make me feel like my hands are gonna break anytime! And just when I was lugging my 20kg luggage up the stairs (with 2 big bags on each of my shoulder as well), step by step with the most pitiful face, hoping that some gentleman can give me a hand, no one did!!!

Instead, these 2 office ladies happened to see me and gave the most sympathetic “OMG such a poor girl!” expression before rushing over to help me! And the 2 of them actually carried my luggage all the way up the long flight of stairs without letting me help! OMG super touched!!!!!! T.T

Thank goodness the changing train part did not require us to take the stairs again~ But we actually bought the wrong ticket for the next train! It was of another train company but luckily they have this refund thing!

Finally arrived at Haneda Airport after a long train ride!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Airport unglamness; that’s her 1-day old shoes by the way~

Photobucket

With our loots! 😀

Photobucket

Couldn’t love the trolley more.

Photobucket

Going to check in!

But actually we arrived super early, like around 8pm and the counter would only open at 9pm…Zzzzz. So much for being early and kiasu~ But it’s still better safe than sorry!
Photobucket

Hung around the airport and visited some souvenir shops, but the one that carries the 白い恋人 that I wanna get happens to be inside! Which means we could only go in after we checked in D:

We were super hungry since our last meal was our Mac breakfast! But not knowing how much the biscuit would cost, we did not know how much we still have for us to spend on food, so we just munched on snacks to curb our hunger x.x

Finally the counter opened at 9pm and we could check in our luggage and go in! It turned out that the weighing scale wasn’t spoiled; Joanjoan’s luggage was really 13kg!
Photobucket

Photobucket

After adding mine!

Photobucket

Our boarding passes!

Photobucket

They have this cool buggy to take you around the airport for free!

Finally got my biscuits and I had just enough to get the big box for Sis and a small box for myself…teehee~ Left with only 300 yen (S$5) for dinner though x.x

Joanjoan spent her remaining hundreds of yen on a magazine which comes with a free bag! I was tempted to withdraw some money just to get that as well but after she opened it, we concluded that it looks much nicer in the picture =/

So in the end we spent my 300 yen combined with her remaining yen and got this pathetic meal to share! Super poor thing I tell you! But we figured that there will be food in the flight anyway~ Even checked with Nadine to confirm that! Haha!
Photobucket

Basically slacked around the airport with our hungry stomachs till midnight! We were really so so soooooo hungry that I started taking our snack after snack from my hand-carry bag which are meant for my brother! =/

Photobucket

The result of 7 full days of sunshine x.x

Finally endured till midnight and our flight actually got delayed by about 20 minutes! Arghhhhh. We need our fooddddddddddddddddd!

But even after we got onto the plane, the refreshment was only served like 1 hour later. Hungry die meeeeeeee T.T

Photobucket

Finally! 😀 😀 😀

Actually it definitely wasn’t enough for my super-duper-ultra-mega hungry stomach but I wanted to sleep after that, so yea~
Photobucket

Singapore Sling recommended by Nadine! But it was kinda strong and I did not dare to finish it in case I get drunk and started to ki-siao in the plane…hahaha!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Good night everyone~

Managed to nap for a while before waking up for breakfast! Yay~! But they ran out of the pancake set that I was ready to order! There goes my dream English breakfast D:

Photobucket

Poached eggs instead~ Not very nice but anything for the hunger pangs.

Photobucket

Tired eyes x.x

Arrived in Singapore at close to 7am! Tired and sleepyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!
Got myself a new bottle of liqueur (which is finishing now! HAHA!) before we cabbed back~

And here is a comparison of my before and after luggage!
https://i0.wp.com/i58.photobucket.com/albums/g244/vs_bee/2012/2012-08-19234350.jpgPhotobucket

Photobucket

9 packets of Hada Labo! It’s damn cheap there~

But only 3 packets are mine and out of all the loots, only these and the pair of shoes + 2 belts are what I have gotten for myself x.x
Photobucket

Nevertheless, I have enjoyed the trip with Joanjoan (minus the sun) and I really hope she has too! Hopefully she wasn’t too bored or starved…haha!

Japan is indeed a nice country to visit but will be even better if you have the money to spend! I wouldn’t say it’s a shopping paradise for me because the things are way too expensive, but it is definitely a great place for good food!!! (:

See you again, Nihon.

2 thoughts on “Japan Day 8 日本八日目 – Ueno, Asakusa & Sky Tree!

Leave a Reply

