Eat. Pray. Love.

I finally get to watch this film because it so happened that my brother has the DVD all this while. I heard some bad reviews when it was out in the cinema and I remember Yinning even said she fell asleep halfway. My brother also said it’s not very nice, but it turned out that I actually like it.

It’s not a fantastic film that you will go round telling people about but it’s something enjoyable and relaxing to watch. Yes, there is no climax throughout and maybe that’s what that makes it enjoyable. Perhaps one doesn’t need any “climax” or excitement to enjoy life; the simplicity of reading a good book, or eating your favourite ice-cream while people-watching is a form of enjoying life too.

But it’s true that after watching this film, you will have this strong urge to travel. The journey of getting away from what you are used to and exploring other parts of the world that you haven’t experienced, meeting new people that became your new inspirations. It doesn’t have to be a crazy, wild trip, but just something of a new experience, which is why the more I can’t wait for my first ever solo trip.

There is a wonderful Italian joke about a poor man who goes to church every day and prays before the statue of a great saint, begging: “Dear saint, please, please, please, let me win the lottery.” Finally, the exasperated statue comes to life and looks down at the begging man and says: “My son, please, please, please, buy a ticket.”

-Eat Pray Love (movie)

To dream, is to first have a dream to dream for. To achieve your dream, you can’t just keep dreaming. The film pretty much mind-fucked me I would say, so did the quotes.

We all want things to stay the same. Settle for living in misery because we’re afraid of change, of things crumbling to ruins. Maybe my life hasn’t been so chaotic, it’s just the world that is, and the real trap is getting attached to any of it. Ruin is a gift. Ruin is the road to transformation.

—-

In the end, I’ve come to believe in something I call “The Physics of the Quest.” A force in nature governed by laws as real as the laws of gravity. The rule of Quest Physics goes something like this: If you’re brave enough to leave behind everything familiar and comforting, which can be anything from your house to bitter, old resentments, and set out on a truth-seeking journey, either externally or internally, and if you are truly willing to regard everything that happens to you on the journey as a clue, and if you accept everyone you meet along the way as a teacher, and if you are prepared, most of all, to face and forgive some very difficult realities about yourself, then the truth will not be withheld from you.

-Eat Pray Love (movie)

I will go on a backpacking trip one day, by 30.

The best breakfast, because I earned it.

Sour Sally replacement.

Crashing the party.

Lucky birthday boy got my last souvenir.

Surprises.

(via andreanaelizabeth.tumblr)

Leave a Reply

