Most Torturous Moment

It was a rare reluctant-to-go-out Sunday that I just felt like resting at home after one whole day of outings and another whole day of NDP~ But was booked for the day by Ah Lyn, who wanted to bring us on some adventure and we didn’t wanna disappoint her.

I didn’t quite know what this forest adventure thing is about by all I know is it’s freaking far (like Bedok reservoir???) and it’s all the camp stuff that I haven’t tried before (I didn’t go for all these camps back in school) so it’s probably gonna scary + dirty + muddy and all – that’s how I imagined it to be. But I did pre-warn the girl that if it’s too scary, I may not wanna do it =/

Dragged my lethargic body all the way down to the east to meet the girls and then it started drizzling just as we were walking into the reservoir! My heart rejoiced a little but I could see the disappointment written all over Lyn’s face…hahaha!

She was really excited about it whereas Tiff and I were like, “Hmmm okayyy, what is this about?” Our reluctance grew even more after learning from the little girl that there wouldn’t be any staff at every site to help us or ensure our safety! =O

Which is why the first 45 minutes was spent on briefing, teaching us how to put on our harness and going through a trial on how to hook on the different hookssss to different parts of a site~ I admit that I was in a zonk-out mode so I wasn’t digesting the information well, and that makes me worry if I can remember all the safety procedures and where to hook what!

After all the briefing and training, we were ready to go on our first site, which seemed pretty easy, except that the tree is also pretty tall. There are a total of 4 sites, so every site starts off with climbing the ladder up to the tree, then from there, you will have to go through different obstacle courses to get across to the other trees, or to get higher up the tree before you do a flying-fox down to the next site.

I don’t have photos of the first few sites because our phones were locked in the lockers, but I got this photo of the first site from ms-skinnyfat‘s blog to better explain why I gave up after the first site -.-”
 photo PhotoGallery83.jpg

The first site is by right the easiest, and on the first look, I was also like, “Okay, I think I can do this.” I was even the first to go amongst us. But the moment I was halfway up the shaky ladder to the tree, I was like, “Fuck. I can do this, but I DON’T WANT TO!!!

Firstly, the ladder is shaky – I hate shaky bridges, shaky ladder or anything shaky. Secondly, the height – this is already a pretty low site but still, I’m not looking down. Thirdly, the harness that was keeping us safe was also restricting our movements up the steps, which means I needed extra arm strength to get myself up the ladder and I was in an ultimate low-battery mode with a bad cough + period + empty stomach!

So when I finally got myself up to the platform, I did a mini flying-fox swing over to the next tree, where I landed on the spider web that you see in the picture above. And then I was supposed to climb up the spider web to the next platform on the tree beside before I can complete this site and do the flying-fox to the next.

But the spider web which seems easy already drained me of all energy by the time I finally climbed to the platform with the help of the instructions from Lyn and Tiff because I refused to look down! I don’t know if I have ever climbed this spider web thingy before but I think if I am like 10 years younger, I may have enjoyed it and climbed like a spider-girl, but now it’s just one word – shagged. The only part that I enjoyed the most is the flying-fox, because it doesn’t require much strength! Haha!

Yea so after my first site, I told the girls that’s it, I’m not going up another. I didn’t like it up there; I didn’t have any more energy to do all these; I am tired like shit; I have sand all over me and even in my undies because I landed on my butt for the flying fox -.- My rationale is that I have fulfilled my promise of coming and I’ve tried also, but it’s just not my kind of thing.

Lyn tried to “encourage” me to continue by continuously saying that I thought Aries don’t give up so easily, Aries like excitement and blah blah blah~ But I think I have to clarify a few things that despite the strong-will of an Aries, we only persevere when we have to. But if it’s something we are given a choice and we don’t like it, I don’t see the need to persevere on.

And yes we do like excitement, I enjoy the thrill of roller-coaster rides and drop tower but that’s because they are all the quick-death kind! Like even if anything happens, it would be a quick death for me. But I definitely do not enjoy anything that’s like walking on the rope, not knowing when you are gonna fall and die! Even in life, I just don’t like that kind of not knowing what’s gonna happen anytime feeling, so I will always choose to opt out from it. Yea I am not a very patient person, even for death xD

The staff was also kinda shocked when I chose to give up after the first site, because it costs freaking 46 bucks for this adventure! But it’s free for us, thanks to Lyn’s Sentosa staff privilege, which is why I can opt out so easily the moment I know I’m not liking it…hahaha!

 photo 20150719_151203_zpsxrpeofu6.jpg

The “I wanna go home” look x.x

The girls went up on site 2 and Tiff went up first this time round, reluctantly (LOL). I don’t have pictures of the site but site 2 is basically what I called – walking on the ropes, literally. There is the easy route and the difficult route and I don’t even wanna talk about how scary the difficult one seems.

The girls took the easy route and the first part consists of walking across from one tree to another on this twisted ropes that kinda rotate when you walk on them and you gotta find your balance. Tiffy was screaming and screaming while she was on it and she kept screaming things that don’t make sense like “You’re supposed to step on the boards” but yet she’s stepping on the ropes instead! And she just kept screaming that sentence repeatedly in a really scared voice. Poor girl! When I asked if she regretted going up, she shouted, “YES!!!” That’s when I told Lyn I am not going up for sure! LOL.

After completing the twisted rope obstacle course, the next obstacle to complete site 2 was walking on yet another rope, but this time round it’s just 1 rope, and it’s a really really long one! Tiffy was once again screaming while walking on the rope and asking why it’s still far away because the distance between the 2 trees is indeed pretty far! Lyn was obviously scared too but she managed to complete every obstacle at a much faster speed than us~ The advantage of being young.

The girls wanted to skip site 3 initially because it involves 9 obstacles to go through and the staff actually told us that if we wanna skip it, we can go straight to site 4, which is the last site~ The girls tried to psycho me to go on site 4 with them once they completed site 2, and I half-agreed because after that I can go home and I couldn’t wait to! Hahahaha!!!

But in the end, they decided to go for site 3, which surprised me, because I thought Tiffy wouldn’t wanna go either! Unfortunately, after Lyn went through the first obstacles and Tiff was halfway on it, it started raining! The girls were in a dilemma of whether to continue the remaining 8 obstacles, or to give up, which means to walk back all the way again then climb down the tree~ They chose the latter in the end as the rain got heavier and the staff said there are expecting a thunderstorm =/

Took the chance to rest before the girls tried to psycho me up on site 2 again -.- They didn’t mind doing it again with me, taking the difficult route this time round while I take the easy route~ I agreed reluctantly since I have regained some energy by then. Lyn went first this time round and despite talking about bravery and stuff the whole day, she backed out on the difficult route after going up and so all of us took the easy route…hahaha!

But the moment I stepped up the ladder again, I regretted once again!!! It was so damn tiring (and scary) just to climb up the shaky ladder and I kept asking the girls if I can just come down and not continue! Of course they kept asking me to carry on and I finally climbed up that damn tree. Did the twisted rope thingy with the help of tips from Lyn and it wasn’t that scary after all~ Then it was the walking on the rope part which Lyn claimed that it’s easier than the twisted rope, so I confidently stepped on it and fuckkkkkkkkk, it was a lie!

I have never been so tortured before in my life and that was probably the longest 5 minutes in my life everrrrr. Okay, I don’t know how long exactly I took to get across the trees but it just felt like forever. I was basically and literally walking on a thin line, high up in the air, tied with harness but the harness hanging from the rope above kept hitting on my forehead (and even eye) as I was trying to strike a balance!

TTA 032_CG

Just a picture to let you guys have an idea
(Credit: CallawayGardens.com)

It was damn damn damn irritating and I had to arch my back and walk while trying really, really hard to balance because once I lost my footing, I will be like hanging in the air and it would be difficult for me to get back on the rope again. I have asked the staff previously like what if we are stuck up there, not being able to complete the site, and her answer was that there’s no way out down, you can only hang there and rest, regain energy then try again to complete it.

So I really really didn’t wanna lose my footing but my legs began to shake badly in the centre! And it was still such a long way to go!!! Argh! Seriously seriously regretted agreeing…Zzzzzz! After I finally finished that site and flying-fox down, I was firm that I WILL NOT go up again!!!

It’s like even if you have the courage but you have no energy, you can hardly complete it. Same likewise if you have energy but no courage, there’s no way you can do it too! It’s definitely more of a torture than a fun adventure to me, I’m sad to say~ And later on when we had a brief conversation with a guy who started the adventure with us at the same time, he shared the same sentiment as me. “I don’t like it… I don’t like it…..” He said. And I could totally get him. A pity he was here with his adventurous partner, so he had no choice but to be spontaneous…hahaha! Poor guy~ I was really thankful that I didn’t have to continue and neither do I have any more energy to!

So the girls decided to carry on and headed up on site 3 once again~ But the moment Tiffy stepped up the ladder again, it started raining again! That means another break as we sought refuge under the shelter and I fed the mosquito -.- Really wanted to go home badly because I was so exhausted, sticky and even more sandy after the second flying-fox butt land! I think camp is just not my kind of thing~

Anyhow, the girls went up on a third time after the rain stopped. But it drizzled halfway again and they decided to just complete it this time round, so finally, site 3 was cleared! One step closer to home! 😛

Off to their last site and it always starts with a ladder-climb~ By this time I have officially raised my white flag, and went to take out our phones in the locker…hahaha!
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0052_zpsvaq6pu32.jpg
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0053_zpskmriyikj.jpg

The scariest thing about this site is actually this 2-second free fall thing from the top platform to across! I actually think I don’t mind the 2-second free fall challenge, since it’s a quick death, but the free fall swings you to a spiderweb opposite, so no way I am going~
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0046_zpsvpefocex.jpg

Lyn was supposed to go first but because she was really really scared of the free-fall, she spent some time persuading Tiffy to go first while they were up there! LOL! Even the staff who happened to be there was laughing because Lyn has tried the Macau bungee jump, yet she’s freaking out on this -_-”
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0056_zpsdrrbkik4.jpg

The persuasion failed eventually and so there you go, Lyn! 😛
Her scream was seriously funny!!! HAHAHAHAHAHA!

Trying to climb to the tree beside~
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0041_zpszmgegmsr.jpg

But I guess she had used up all her energy on screaming during the free-fall that she had no more energy left to climb the spiderweb too! She kept trying and trying and trying but she just didn’t have energy to move anymore~
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0058_zps7n3jymri.jpg

The staff asked if she wanna give up and that means to let go, rest while hanging in the air, then try to climb again, which she did…
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0059_zpsmqnafsjh.jpg

Hanging up there after first failed attempt~
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0063_zps7yn36gsk.jpg

Then she tried again for the second time, then gave up again~
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0064_zpsznxhui8t.jpg

The staff even tried to help her by pulling the spiderweb closer to the tree but she still couldn’t do it, because all of us have not eaten at all! And because a hungry glutton is an extra angry one, she kept scolding us to “diam! (Shut up!)” whenever we tried to help her by giving her advice on the direction -.-”
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0062_zpsfix1njqt.jpg

Poor Tiffy waiting up there for her turn and yet she couldn’t go because Lyn’s still stuck on the web like a dead fly xD
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0060_zpsip4zzikd.jpg

And after several failed attempts, the staff finally resorted to using the “helpline“, which is to activate this pulley system. Lyn thought the pulley would help her to get down and end everything once and for all, but when the staff started pulling her upwards, she was like, “Huh?! She’s helping me up ah! T.T” LOLOL.
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0038_zps7cyjrrsx.jpg

Finally!
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0066_zpsopuwphwz.jpg
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0067_zpsdftxgqjg.jpg

And then it was Tiffy’s turn~ No video because she omitted it…haha!
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0035_zpskj7mhe3x.jpg

Tiff also had some difficulty climbing because I think they were all really exhausted by then…
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0070_zpsidve7r1l.jpg

After the first failed attempt, she finally managed to get to the platform too!
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0078_zpsdzsh1wru.jpg

But that was not the end of it of course… They still had to go through some obstacles before the site is completed!
 photo IMG-20150719-WA0020_zps3qt0qp81.jpg

 photo IMG-20150719-WA0031_zpsyty0gyte.jpg

From wooden planks to wooden logs~

 photo IMG-20150719-WA0028_zpstszgbmdm.jpg

Short legs but going fast

 photo IMG-20150719-WA0024_zpspmoy2jl6.jpg

Though with a sibei scared face…LOL

You can see how shaky the wooden logs are!!! Thank goodness I didn’t have to go through!

 photo IMG-20150719-WA0030_zps6jkfywue.jpg

Probably the easiest obstacle

Finally on the last stop – flying-fox!
 photo 20150719_173557_zps7lvpvrft.jpg

But then once again, Lyn was persuading Tiffy to go first -_-”
 photo 20150719_173509_zpsoq0rlbi1.jpg

Negotiation failed again so it was Lyn’s turn again! Hahaha! She always managed to land nicely even though she’s damn scared to do the flying-fox -.- That’s like my only favourite part lor.

Tiff, on the other hand, always landed on her butt like me! Somehow we just always start to rotate halfway during the flying-fox =/

Finally done with the day! FINALLY TIME TO GO HOME!!! Hahaha! I was brutally tortured on this day =X
 photo 20150719_174037_zpshyfnhimb.jpg

One thought on “Most Torturous Moment

  1. Pingback: Excursion Part 2! | Every Entry is a piece of Memory

Leave a Reply

