CNY Week

Thought I would be pretty free this week to catch up on my blog entries but in the end I was still pretty occupied! Even miss 2 consecutive weeks of yoga ๐Ÿ˜ฑ But partly also due to class cancellation and etc.

Movie night on Mondate; had a sumptuous but super rush dinner before that! No exercise but eat and eat and eat instead ๐Ÿ™Š

 photo 20170123_193912_zpsirmrurwh.jpg

Prata as starter ๐Ÿ˜ฑ
Who eats prata at night?!

 photo 20170123_194538_zpsg0yx2eed.jpg

Huge bowl of Tom Yum soup!
It’s blur!!! -CRY!-

 photo 20170123_194324_zpstcwjtf6h.jpg

Definitely over-ordered… ๐Ÿ˜ฃ
But nothing went to waste! This kept me full throughout the next day~

There wasn’t many movie choices this week; settled for xXx Return of Xander Cage since there are many ๅคงๅ’–, like Donnie Yen!!!
xxx-return-of-xander-cage-2017-movie-poster

Turned out not as bad as I thought. The reviews weren’t fantastic and I remember the radio commenting about its mediocre plot, like it only passed because of the big shots. But actually not bad luh. Some humour, some excitement and some coolness~

 photo 20170125_170824_zps1pe01vto.jpg

Another birthday happening at VTG~!

Okay, we are embarrassed to say that we actually forgot about our dear senior’s birthday until our boss told us ๐Ÿ˜ณ Actually I didn’t know her date of birth, but that’s no excuse. Went to get a last-minute cake for her and I was so excited when I spotted the newly-opened Chateraise in City Square!

Literally dragged Ping over excitedly and the preggie was like, “Eh eh eh…the cake shop won’t run away.” Hahaha! The cakes were all pretty expensive, but we spotted a cheesecake that is within budget and decided to call the birthday girl’s closest colleague to double check. And here comes the joke of the day…

Me: Does Maj eat cheesecake?

MK: Hmmm…yah I think so. I think she eats cheesecake…

Me: Confirm ah? Then we buy the cheesecake liao ah.

MK: Yea…I think cheesecake should be fine.

Then right after I paid at the cashier, my phone rang…

MK: Hey Maj HATES cheesecake!!!!!!!! She hates anything cheese!!!!!!!

LOLOL! Such a huge difference to the initial conversation! ๐Ÿ˜‚ Ping and I were like omgomgomg, cause we already paid and the person was already preparing the birthday message for the cake! Thank goodness we managed to stop them in time, but we had no choice except to increase our budget and choose another cake…hahaha! So ta-duh~! Strawberry cream cake in the end!
 photo 20170125_170943_zpscay6xztp.jpg

Look how pretty and cute they wrote her name! Oh I also took the chance to request Ping for a mille crepe cake for my birthday…HAHAHAHA.
 photo 20170125_171015_zpsonkfweom.jpg

Went to visit Mommeyyyyyy and Wayne the moment they were back! Wayne was only here for 3 days, and I made him see my face for 3 days straight…hahaha!

Visited them at Mommeyyyyy’s house on the day they landed and dabao-ed the famous roast meat near my office that Mommeyyyyy wanted to try. Bought her favourite chendol too and she gobbled it up like a mouse ๐Ÿ˜„

Wayne on the other hand was skeptical about this green thing (the chendol) ๐Ÿ˜‚ย He chose to eat his cake instead and after cutting a piece, he exclaimed to June, “You didn’t tell me it’s green?!” Because it’s pandan cake…LOL!!!ย Never occurred to me that pandan cake is something very Asian and green cake really ain’t something common in a Western cafe…hahaha!

He said we (Asians) eat pig intestines, frogs and all the weird stuff…LOL. He even said the thin kway tiao in Vietnam looks like rat skin…HAHAHAHA! Super funny watching an angmoh trying Asian stuff! And he’s always very skeptical when Mommeyyyyy asks him to try something ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ So hilarious and entertaining, especially when Mommeyyyyy is like a glutton eating everything while Wayne is skeptical about everything…hahahaha!!!

Visited Chinatown the next day to ้€›ๅนดๅธ‚ again and Mommeyyyyy happened to be there too! No choice, must see my face again ๐Ÿ˜ But it’s so cute watching Wayne getting curious in the crowded streets of Chinatown! Anyway was there again because I missed the food street the other time~

 photo 20170125_204212_zpspsfy5ano.jpg

The burgers that my producer raved about!

This burger stall featured in the video I edited now has long queue! I choose to believe that the people were there after watching the video ๐Ÿ˜Ž Wanted to use that as an excuse to ask for discount…HAHAHA.

Bought more mochi as well! Felt cheated because I bought them at $1.50/100 gram the other day and now it’s $1 ๐Ÿ˜ฃ Can only buy more to balance out my losses…hahaha~ Shall come back when it’s closer to CNY next time!

Since Mommeyyyyy and Wayne had already finished the ๅนดๅธ‚ before we reached, cause they were there since 6, they went back to rest first while Lyn and I continued our journey~ But photos first before parting! Cause I forgot to take the previous night…hehe.
 photo 20170125_211309_zps00mjykob.jpg
 photo 20170125_211304_zpstgwiwqma.jpg

He really looks so much like George Clooney!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So handsome right? ๐Ÿ˜ Always happy to see their photos taken together!
 photo 20170125_211345_zps8kjpgfo0.jpg

Lyn finds that this year’s ๅนดๅธ‚ is smaller than previous years, while I think it’s because it’s more or less the same every year, so we managed to finish pretty quickly. Went to have some desserts at the ็‚–ๅฅถ place again! ๐Ÿ˜€
 photo 20170125_220010_zpsqlzr8vpl.jpg

Too bad they don’t have warm one during this festive season…booohoooo~ ็‚–ๅฅถ is best eaten warm!
 photo IMG-20170125-WA0013_zps3dhq2qyk.jpg

 photo IMG-20170125-WA0011_zpsyckeblho.jpg

้‡‘้ธกๅฟซๆฅ็ป™ๆˆ‘ๆŠฅๅ–œๅ•Š๏ฝž

Did not have the chance to have a gathering with Wayne during these 3 days, so we decided to send him off at the airport ๐Ÿ˜Š Seeing him makes me miss Aussie!!! I wanna go back with him too~~~
 photo IMG-20170126-WA0014_zpsrcok8nak.jpg

Goodbye Wayne~! Hope to see you very soon again!
 photo IMG-20170126-WA0013_zpsa1do9dgf.jpg

And then here comes the CNY festive, my most hated time of the year~ Can you believe, I was actually disappointed when boss declared an off day for CNY eve ๐Ÿ˜ช Like I hadn’t been troubled enough over how to spend my ๅˆไธ€ this year.

Felt really lost this year because I have been spending it overseas for the past few years. I kinda forgot how is it like to spend CNY in Singapore and definitely ain’t looking forward to either. Was only looking forward to ๅˆไบŒ because that’s when my trip’s gonna happen!!! If I had known CNY eve is gonna be an off day, I would have gone somewhere earlier…Zzzzzz.

The most boring part of CNY is that everywhere is closed! All the cafes that I wanted to visit were closed on CNY eve and in the end I ended up at IKEA, because thank goodness, it’s still running business as usual ๐Ÿ˜’ I almost thought I had to go to Little India.
 photo 20170127_161109_zpsjo1ee9u0.jpg

Always miss IKEA food because I seldom get to eat! The chocolate cake is LOVE~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Even Shrine finds it dope! I must make sure I buy it again when I’m there! But hate it that they always charge $1 for the box ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Topic of the day was religion. Questioned a religious friend if he thinks religion has caused more harm than good – something that I have been pondering over. I mean look at all the wars and terrorism. Yes, religion on its own is not something bad, but it’s human beings that made it bad. So if there isn’t this “classification” of different religion in the first place, then will there be more peace? People won’t be vying to prove that theirs is the real god because we are all the same, right?

The intention of religion is supposed to be good, but is it something really necessary? Mr Religious actually said one thing that I couldn’t agree more – “Sometimes religious people are more hypocritical than non-religious ones.” Especially those who love to preach like they are saints, but really, look at yourself, how good are you? Are all your actions considered holy and right? Or are you only trying to “appear right” in front of all other religious people so that you can blend in as a “holy person” and not get judged? Isn’t that indeed hypocritical? And isn’t being hypocritical not so holy anymore? Hmmmm. Food for thought. But I still believe in being myself, not being manipulated by religious dos & don’ts, formalities, traditions and etc.

Anyhow, reunion dinner was spent with Shrine and his dad, because this year is the first that only 2 of them are eating together… Well, I happened to be an un-sympathisable roaming soul too, so the more the merrier! Unfortunately, the zi char place that they booked completely screwed up, so everyone was asking for a refund there. Not a pleasant thing to happen on such an occasion, but we managed to get a refund, at least, with a bit of my aggression ๐Ÿ˜

Had a simple dinner at Xin Wang! I’m glad that they did not have to resort to McDonald’s in the end. Glad that his dad likes the fried rice! Anyway I’ve been mistaken as so many of Clique’s girlfriend before that I really DGAF anymore. I know this bro needs us and this is the most that we can do. He’s doing me a favour by making my CNY eve less boring too! (:

 photo 20170127_235231_zpsg1zlmknw.jpg

Cloudy Bay from buddy & Moscato from yours truly.
CHEERS~! ๅฅฝๅ‹ๆปกๅคฉไธ‹๏ผ

Leave a Reply

